Olmo Bicycle with F&S Torpedo Automatic hub

I found a interesting bicycle concept on eBay. The F&S Torpedo AUTOMATIC looks new. I recognize it one the blank hub shell and the brown grease parts on the shell cap. That´s exactly the grease which comes out of the hub when you start riding a new Fichtel & Sachs Torpedo AUTOMATIC or DUOMATIC hub. This stops after the first 50 -150km. Then you wipe it away and have fun! Also the chain is new! Seems that this guy had luck to find one with 36 spoke holes. These are very rare.

Here are some details:You are bidding on a very special Olmo bike built by myself on the basis of an old 53 cm frame (center to center). The colour is white changing to an a little bit pinkish red. It’s got two new wheels with Ambrosio Excursion rims, Sachs Torpedo Automatic 2-Speed coaster brake hub back and Shimano 105 hub (the older slimline one!). For the very special rear hub please see my other auction for the same item. It is new from old stock. The wheels are handbuilt by me (I’m a professional bike mechanic) with stainless silver DT Competition spokes. If you’re buying that bike, you can chose to have the back wheel with a Torpedo DUOMATIC hub instead of the AUTOMATIC! That is the version where you shift through a short backward pedaling impulse. The foldable Schwalbe Stelvio tires, inner tubes, handlebar Humpert Moon, pedals, chain, sprocket, grips and the only necessary cable on that bike (!) going to the front brake are new.
Used are: Seatpost and stem DuraAce respectively DuraAce AX (see pictures). Saddle Flite in bad shape and rather there just to complete the bike. A matching new saddle would have been too expensive. Crank and front brake are Campagnolo.
I am riding the Duomatic version of the hub on my bike for a year now and it’s great fun! You need no shifter, cable and rear brake, and still you’ve got a very simple, easy to maintain bike with the luxury of two speeds and two brakes. You’ve got the look and the simplicity of a fixie but the comfort of two speeds, a freewheel and a rear brake!

This is a private auction, no Warranty, no Return!

If there’s any questions, fell free to ask. Please mail for pictures with higher resolution, but only if you’re really interested and able to pay at least the actual bid. That saves me work, thanks!

Shipping in Switzerland is SFR 26.-
I will ship internationally, shipping is SFR 70.- to 193.- according to your country without insurance. Somehow it displays SFR 70.- shipping if you don’t choose a single country. This is wrong! So either choose one country or ask for details if yours is not displayed.

I will not answer any questions until October 5th because I’m on the move. But then you’ll get all the information I might have forgotten to put.



   



  1. Hi Clancy,

    thanks for the link. A very interesting statment from Matthew Grimm of Kogswell.

    I tried to catch some details about the kick back hub on this bicycle.

    http://www.schwinnbike.com/products/intbikes_detail.php?id=1060

    With this kick back hub:

    Hubs Schwinn approved 2-speed kick back Coaster Brake rear and alloy front

    What means Schwinn approved?
    The prooved the quality and accepted it? Sounds like China!

    Here is a feedback mail from the Schwinn support:

    The hub is our own production, so it doesn’t have an aftermarket brand name. To shift, you simply need to quickly pedal backward (the kick-back), then resume pedaling forwards. Unfortunately, I don’t have any detailed close-ups of it at this time.

    Thanks,

    Jason Brozek
    Schwinn/Mongoose/GT
    IBD Service and FAQ Support

    In my eyes it makes no sense to produce a hub just for a bicycle model. On the other hand SCHWINN is a bicycle producer and no hub vendor.

    I´am still in contact with Jason to get more informations on the hub.

    Maybe Matthew Grimm of Kogswell has a better contact to Schwinn according his statment.

    Gruß Marco

  2. tom

    Does anyone have a two speed kickback for sale . already in the rim? I’m looking for a 26 x 2.125 with fat spokes and a low first gear and 1 to 1 second gear. I’ll pay if you got….. Tom

  3. George Fellrath

    Hallo, I have an original 24 in F&S blue stripe automatic rear wheel in new condition, and would be interested in selling it. I live in Stuttgart. Liebe grusse, George Fellrath

  4. Hi everyone.I am Ovidiu Golescu from Roumania .I have a bike from Germany,,shyncron,, I’m not 100% but I reemember this name.I need a torpedo not duomatic…I need AUTOMATIC with 2 or many speeds for 36 holes.My bike have wheels 24×1,75 .I need and the crank complete .I prefere all this new or not very old.If somebody know something help me please .My email pintea_guitar@yahoo.com phone 0740108246 Roumania thanks

  5. Hi to every body, it’s my first visit of this webpage; this blog consists of awesome and genuinely good data in favor of visitors.

  6. Hello, just wanted to say, I loved this post. It was inspiring.
    Keep on posting!




Leave a Reply

